Cantons of Guanacaste: Cañas

View Cantones de Guanacaste in a larger map
Profimercadeo web solutions

Cañas Guanacaste

Cañas, which means cane town, is the sixth canton in the province of Guanacaste, Costa Rica. The canton covers up an area of 682.20 km², and has a population of 25,897. Its capital city is also called Cañas.

The elongated canton touches the Río Tempisque on the southwest. It has the Río Bebedero and Río Tenorio on its western boundary as it widens to encompass agricultural lowlands before climbing into the Cordillera de Guanacaste up to the Tenorio Volcano National Park. Cañas is also close to the Arenal Volcano. The area has been called 'cowboy country' because of the amount of cattle ranching that takes place in this area of the country. Folk dancing is a popular pastime in this region. 

The canton of Cañas is subdivided into 5 distritos (districts).

1. Cañas
2. Palmira
3. San Miguel
4. Bebedero
5. Porozal

The canton was established by a decree of July 12, 1878.


Life and Colors from Cañas Guanacaste

Travel Books reference, chapter: Cañas Guanacaste

Cañas Guanacaste Profile