Cantons of Guanacaste: Abangares

View Cantones de Guanacaste in a larger map
Profimercadeo web solutions

Abangares Guanacaste

Abangares is the seventh canton in the province of Guanacaste in Costa Rica. The canton covers an area of 675.76 km², and has a population of 17,289. Its capital city is Las Juntas.

The canton begins on the coastline of the Gulf of Nicoya, Abangares River's mouth northem side. It widens between the Lajas River on the northwest and Lagartos River on the east as it reaches up into the Cordillera de Tilarán. Abangares is especially well known for its gold mines, which were the first to be established in Costa Rica. 

The canton of Abangares is subdivided into 4 distritos (districts).

1. Las Juntas
2. La Sierra
3. San Juan
4. Colorado

Abangares canton was established by law on June 4, 1915.


Life and Colors from Abangares Guanacaste

Travel Books reference, chapter: Abangares Guanacaste

Abangares Guanacaste Profile